2 minutes ago, Waking_Warrior said:

Good evening!!!  Of course I’m a newbie here.  I have been searching for a decent site with good RPGs.  I’m hoping I’ll be accepted here.  So, hello to everyone!!

Check out our new member guide: https://www.valucre.com/lore.html/resources/nux/new-member-guide/

It's separated into sections so you can read up on the thing that interests you most without having to walk through the whole guide, but the whole guide also only takes about 30 minutes to read in total and will answer most of your questions. Take it at your own pace of course

I think that "decent site with good RPGs" describes Valucre to an eerie T. After poking around the site I hope you agree. Consider me a resource if you have any questions. Enjoy!

2 minutes ago, Waking_Warrior said:

I’m a 29 year old Navy veteran.  I’m looking to start out on new RPGs.  Helping find a direction to go in would be appreciated.

I think I can point you in the right direction, but what is the right direction for you as an rper? What flavor of the game do you like or are you up for?

1 minute ago, Waking_Warrior said:

My strong point is fantasy.  I love creating unique characters that shake an RP up.  I admit, I like characters who have abilities. 

I think fantasy and character who has abilities will fit in almost everywhere on the site, so that's a good start! You can just drop a pin on wherever sounds interesting and take it from there

To narrow that down a little bit, here's two questions: high tech or low tech? magic as mystical thing or magic as abundant convenience?

1 minute ago, Waking_Warrior said:

I don’t understand what you mean by “high tech” or “low tech”.  And what do you mean by abundant convenience?

Basically what he means by high tech and low tech is:

Our world earth would be sort of high tech. Cellphones, power, computers etc.

Low tech would likely be medieval level likely.